Kunst Museum Winterthur
Beim Stadthaus

Beim Stadthaus

With the Kunstverein Winterthur’s founding in 1848 and the museum building opening in 1916, the former Kunstmuseum is the oldest amongst Winterthur’s art museums. It is the only museum that continues to expand its collection of paintings, sculptures, drawings and prints. Up until 2017, it was called Kunstmuseum Winterthur but as a result of merging with the former Museum Oskar Reinhart, the umbrella brand Kunst Museum Winterthur emerged and the former Kunstmuseum Winterthur became the Kunst Museum Winterthur | Beim Stadthaus.

The museum’s collection has its origins in private collections from Winterthur. These date back to the beginning of the 20th century and reveal the collectors’ preferences for French art. Worthy of mention are the donors Georg Reinhart, Arthur and Hedy Hahnloser-Bühler, and E. Richard Bühler, whose collections were complemented by that of Heinrich Wolfer-Sulzer. In 1973, the museum received a legacy by Clara and Emil Friedrich-Jezler, two of Switzerland’s most important collectors of classical modern art.

Today, the museum holds the fourth largest public collection of Modern art in Switzerland, following the collections of Basel, Zurich and Bern. The Kunst Museum Winterthur | Beim Stadthaus thereby complements the two Reinhart museums in Winterthur – Reinhart am Stadtgarten and the Oskar Reinhart Collection «Am Römerholz» – with their significant holdings of older art.

 

location-pos

Kunst Museum Winterthur
Beim Stadthaus
Museumstrasse 52
8400 Winterthur
Get directions

time-pos

Tue 10 am–8 pm
Wed to Sun 10 am–5 pm
Monday closed

price-pos

CHF 19 / 15 (reduced)
With the ticket you can visit all three museums.

Details

Kunst Museum Winterthur
Beim Stadthaus

Beim Stadthaus

Unter den Winterthurer Kunstmuseen ist das frühere Kunstmuseum das älteste – 1848 wurde der Kunstverein Winterthur gegründet, 1916 das Museumsgebäude eingeweiht – und zugleich das einzige, das seine Sammlung von Gemälden, Skulpturen, Zeichnungen und Druckgraphik kontinuierlich weiter ausbaut. Bis 2017 trug die Sammlung den Namen Kunstmuseum Winterthur. Durch die betriebliche Zusammenführung mit dem Museum Oskar Reinhart und der daraus resultierenden Dachmarke Kunst Museum Winterthur wurde es zum Kunst Museum Winterthur / Beim Stadthaus.

Seine Sammlung ist aus Winterthurer Privatsammlungen entstanden, die auf den Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts zurückgehen. Ihnen sind die reichhaltigen Bestände an französischer Kunst zu verdanken. Zu nennen sind unter anderem die Donatoren Georg Reinhart, Arthur und Hedy Hahnloser-Bühler, E. Richard Bühler. Ergänzt wurden ihre Schenkungen durch die Sammlung von Heinrich Wolfer-Sulzer. 1973 erhielt das Museum mit dem Legat Clara und Emil Friedrich-Jezler eine der bedeutendsten Schweizer Sammlungen von Kunst klassischer Moderne.

Heute verfügt das Haus neben Basel, Zürich und Bern über die vierte grosse öffentliche Sammlung von Kunst der Moderne in der Schweiz. Damit ergänzt es die beiden Reinhart-Museen, Reinhart am Stadtgarten und die Sammlung Oskar Reinhart «Am Römerholz» in Winterthur mit ihren bedeutenden Beständen älterer Kunst.

 

location-pos

Kunst Museum Winterthur
Beim Stadthaus
Museumstrasse 52
8400 Winterthur
Route hierher

time-pos

Dienstag 10 – 20 Uhr
Mittwoch bis Sonntag 10 – 17 Uhr
Montag geschlossen

price-pos

CHF 19 / 15 (ermässigt)
Mit dem Ticket können Sie alle drei Standorte besuchen.

Details